Beethoven Romance in F Major op.50 (recorded in 1889)

On September 13, 1889 violinist Herr Krahmer and pianist Herr Schmalfuss recorded Beethoven’s Romance in F Major, op.50. Here is that recording.) First you will hear an extract from the piece played by Louise Chisson (recorded in 2010). Then you will hear the 1889 recording which will be followed by a recording of the whole piece played by Jascha Heifetz with the RCA Victor Orchestra.

The 1889 recording is in very bad shape and it is hard to make out the violin and piano. If you listen carefully you can hear the instruments. In December of 1889 Johannes Brahms was recorded playing the piano. A historic year indeed! Enjoy.

Dr. Barry Cooper and Beethoven’s 10th Symphony

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Ludwig van Beethoven is known today by music lovers and the general public as the composer of the 5th Symphony and the 9th Symphony with its ‘Ode to Joy.’

Beethoven was a fussy composer.  Often he would be working on several compositions at the same time.  Scholars know about his compositional methods because they have sketch books full of compositions in varying stages of completion.

In the 1970s Beethoven scholars found sketches of an ‘unfinished’ symphony by Beethoven.  Beethoven had mentioned to a friend that he was working on a ‘new’ symphony.  Dr. Barry Cooper, an authority on Beethoven’s music has taken the sketches of the ‘new’ symphony and put them together.  He talks about how scholars discovered the sketches and how he put them together.  Enjoy!

Here is the first part of the symphony performed by the City of Birmingham Orchestra conducted by Walter Weller.

Beethoven – Fünf Stücke für Flötenuhr

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) was a German composer and piano virtuoso.  He is known by many classical music lovers as the composer of the famous 5th Symphony and the 9th Symphony with its ‘Ode to Joy.’

After Beethoven’s death, musicologists discovered five pieces by Beethoven for musical clock or mechanical organ.

Musical clocks were very popular in the 18th and 19th century among aristocrats.  J. Haydn, W.A. Mozart, and G.F. Handel also wrote music for musical clocks.

Here is Beethoven’s suite, Fünf Stücke für Flötenuhr:

  1. Allegro non più molto
  2. Allegretto
  3. Adagio assai
  4. Scherzo, allegro
  5. Allegro