G.F. Handel – Nine German Arias

G. F. Handel (1685-1759)

Georg Frideric Handel was a German baroque organist, violinist, conductor, and composer who spent most of his working life in London, England.  He composed more than 40 operas, oratorios, sacred music, orchestral music, chamber music, and keyboard music.  Today Handel is known for works such as the oratorio Messiah, Water Music, and the Royal Fireworks Music.

Handel’s nine German arias are not from any of his 40 operas.  They are Da capo arias (an A section followed by a B section which is followed by the A section one last time).  This form (ABA) was a popular form of opera aria in the baroque period.

Here are the German arias by G.F. Handel.  Dame Emma Kirkby is the soprano. She is accompanied by the London Baroque.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s